David Claerbout

Travel. 1996–2013. HD color animation, stereo sound, 12’. Courtesy of the artist and galleries Sean Kelly, New York, and Esther Schipper, Berlin

Travel. 1996–2013. HD color animation, stereo sound, 12’. Courtesy of the artist and galleries Sean Kelly, New York, and Esther Schipper, Berlin


Travel. 1996–2013. HD color animation, stereo sound, 12’. Courtesy of the artist and galleries Sean Kelly, New York, and Esther Schipper, Berlin

Travel. 1996–2013. HD color animation, stereo sound, 12’. Courtesy of the artist and galleries Sean Kelly, New York, and Esther Schipper, Berlin


Travel

HD color animation, stereo sound
12’

A continuous camera movement makes a journey starting in a park, going into a dark forest, which turns out to be only a small grove in the middle of the plain once the camera ascends to the height of a bird's flight. Claerbout works with a universal image of a dark tranquil forest moving the camera in a dispassionate and dynamic manner.

The viewer almost haptically feels the travel through the grove taken there by the smooth and continual camera movement. One seems to thread his way through details of the image while not seeing it as a whole. The forest may resemble a Gothic church, or a cave, or hearth and home – each viewer will have his own associations. However, the feelings may deceive, and one may get lost like a babe in the woods. The space depicted by Claerbout is not specific, it is generic, and its details do not just reflect the perceived object, but reveal the process of perception.


David Claerbout (b. 1969, Kortrijk, Belgium) is a media artist, best known for his large-scale video installations at the intersection of photography and film. His solo shows were held at the Centre Pompidou (Paris, 2007), MIT LIST Visual Arts Center (USA, 2008), MART Museo di arte moderna e contemporanea di Trento e Rovereto (МАРТ) (Italy, 2012) among other venues. In 2010 Claerbout has been awarded the Prize of the Günther-Peill-Stiftung (Düren, Germany).

Давид Клербо

Путешествие. 1996–2013. Видео, анимация, стереозвук, 12'. Предоставлено художником и галереями Sean Kelly, Нью-Йорк, и Esther Schipper, Берлин

Путешествие. 1996–2013. Видео, анимация, стереозвук, 12'. Предоставлено художником и галереями Sean Kelly, Нью-Йорк, и Esther Schipper, Берлин


Путешествие. 1996–2013. Видео, анимация, стереозвук, 12'. Предоставлено художником и галереями Sean Kelly, Нью-Йорк, и Esther Schipper, Берлин

Путешествие. 1996–2013. Видео, анимация, стереозвук, 12'. Предоставлено художником и галереями Sean Kelly, Нью-Йорк, и Esther Schipper, Берлин


Путешествие

Видео, анимация, стереозвук
1996–2013

Непрерывно движущаяся камера начинает путешествие в парке, затем движется через темный лес, который в конце концов оказывается лишь небольшой рощей посреди поля – достаточно камере вынырнуть из него и подняться на высоту птичьего полета. Клербо работает с универсальным образом темного спокойного леса, беспристрастно и динамично продвигаясь сквозь него.

Зритель почти тактильно ощущает движение сквозь чащу, куда камера его плавно и неотвратимо увлекает. Он будто бы продирается сквозь детали изображения, не видя всего образа в целом. Чаща предстает то готическим храмом, то пещерой, то подобием домашнего очага – у каждого зрителя рождаются свои ассоциации. Однако ощущения могут быть обманчивы, и «заблудиться в трех соснах» не составит труда. Пространство, которое запечатлевает Клербо, не специфично, оно универсально, и его детали отражают не столько сам объект восприятия, сколько процесс контактирования человека с лесом.


Давид Клербо (род. 1969, Кортрейк, Бельгия) – медиахудожник, наиболее известный своими крупномасштабными видеоинсталляциями на стыке фотографии и фильма. Его персональные выставки проходили в Центре Жоржа Помпиду (Париж, 2007), Центре визуальных искусств Массачусетского технологического института (США, 2008), Музее современного искусства Тренто и Роверето (МАРТ) (Италия, 2012) и других. В 2010 году удостоен приза фонда Гюнтер-Пейль (Дюрен, Германия).