Leonid Tishkov

Private Moon. 2003–2017. Light installation, photographs, video. Courtesy of the artist

Private Moon. 2003–2017. Light installation, photographs, video. Courtesy of the artist


Private Moon. 2003–2017. Light installation, photographs, video. Courtesy of the artist

Private Moon. 2003–2017. Light installation, photographs, video. Courtesy of the artist


Private Moon. 2003–2017. Light installation, photographs, video. Courtesy of the artist

Private Moon. 2003–2017. Light installation, photographs, video. Courtesy of the artist


Private Moon

Light installation, photographs, video
2003–2017

Private Moon is a visual poem telling the story of a man who once met the Moon and stayed with her for the rest of his life, traveling with it all around the world.

Since people began to travel, they established a tradition to record their travel experiences. The written description of journey was often accompanied by sketches. Leonid Tishkov continues this tradition by placing an artificial moon each time at a new location such as landscape of open terrain, balconies and gardens of citizens, walls of clubs, abandoned buildings or power plants, and documenting these views. Located in unusual ways and illuminating objects around it, the traveling crescent moon offers viewers and random passers-by to experience the sensation of fabulousness of existence. Hence, a viewer finds himself inside the installation, becoming a character and partaker of events, experiences poetic state in our prosaic postindustrial time.

The artwork travels all around the world. The Moon has visited Siberia and Ural, Saint Petersburg, Lvov, Riga, Paris, Berlin, Prague, London, Frankfurt, Zurich, Japan, Singapore, China, Taiwan, USA. According to the artist, "The real Moon travels around the Earth illuminating beautiful landscapes of our beloved planet with its magic light – and that it why I decided to make the same journey with my Private Moon. It will be a somewhat longer journey that one orbit of the Moon around the Earth. A lifelong journey!"


Leonid Tishkov (b. 1953, Nizhniye Serghi, Russia) – artist, lives and works in Moscow. Graduated from the Sechenov Moscow Medical Institute. Works with installation, sculpture, video, photography, and book illustration. His works are in collections of the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Center of Contemporary Art Ujazdowski Castle in Warsaw, the Wooyang Museum of Contemporary Art in Korea, the State Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow and many Russian museums.

Леонид Тишков

Частная Луна. 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии, видео. Предоставлено художником

Частная Луна. 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии, видео. Предоставлено художником


Частная Луна. 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии, видео. Предоставлено художником

Частная Луна. 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии, видео. Предоставлено художником


Частная Луна. 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии, видео. Предоставлено художником

Частная Луна. 2003–2017. Световая инсталляция, фотографии, видео. Предоставлено художником


Частная Луна

Световая инсталляция, фотографии, видео
2003–2017

«Частная Луна» – визуальная поэма, рассказывающая историю про человека, который встретился с Луной и остался с ней на всю жизнь, путешествуя с ней вокруг Света.

С тех пор как люди стали путешествовать, возникла традиция фиксировать путевые впечатления. Описание поездки нередко дополнялось зарисовками увиденного. Леонид Тишков продолжает эту традицию, располагая искусственный месяц каждый раз на новом месте: в пейзаже на открытой местности, на балконах и садах горожан, на стенах клубов, заброшенных помещений или электростанций – и запечатлевая эти картины. Необычно располагаясь и освещая окружающие предметы, путешествующий месяц предлагает пришедшим зрителям или случайным прохожим пережить ощущения сказочности существования. Таким образом, зритель оказывается внутри инсталляции, становясь персонажем и соучастником события, переживая поэтическое состояние в наше прозаическое постиндустриальное время.

Само произведение совершает путешествия одно за другим. «Луна» побывала в Сибири и на Урале, в Петербурге, во Львове, в Риге, в Париже, Берлине, Праге, Лондоне, Франкфурте, Цюрихе, Японии, Сингапуре, Китае, Тайване, США. По словам художника, «реальная Луна путешествует вокруг Земли, освещая своим волшебным светом прекрасные пейзажи нашей любимой планеты – и поэтому я решил совершить со своей Частной Луной такое же путешествие. Это будет немного более долгое путешествие, чем один оборот Луны вокруг Земли. Путешествие длиной в мою жизнь!»


Леонид Тишков (род. 1953, Нижние Серги, Россия) – художник, живет и работает в Москве. Окончил Московский медицинский институт имени И.М. Сеченова. Работает в области инсталляции, скульптуры, видео, фотографии, книжной графики. Его работы находятся в собраниях Музея современного искусства в Нью-Йорке, Центра современного искусства «Уяздовский замок» в Варшаве, Музея современного искусства Вуянг в Корее, Третьяковской галереи в Москве и многих музеев России.