Yuri Kalendarev

Yuri Kalendarev. Shma (Listen). 2002. Ink on paper. 90 × 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist

Yuri Kalendarev. Shma (Listen). 2002. Ink on paper. 90 × 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist


Yuri Kalendarev. Big Square 3. 2010. Acoustic bronze.150 × 150 × 0,33 cm. Courtesy of the artist

Yuri Kalendarev. Big Square 3. 2010. Acoustic bronze.150 × 150 × 0,33 cm. Courtesy of the artist


Yuri Kalendarev. Kursk. 2004. Acoustic bronze. Two plates, each 160 × 60 × 0,3 cm. Courtesy of the artist

Yuri Kalendarev. Kursk. 2004. Acoustic bronze. Two plates, each 160 × 60 × 0,3 cm. Courtesy of the artist


Inner Space

Ink on paper, acoustic bronze
1993–2010
 

Yuri Kalendarev's journey is primarily a personal experience of internal search, an experiment that extends from artistic techniques to his own biography. Started with stone carving and land art, the artist turns to light and then to sound. He redefines the concept of sculpture through a new aural experience, going beyond the sound itself, into the realm of the pure acoustics.

The installation leads through Kalendarev's personal artistic journey and represents a space of art studio or a temple, where creative meditation is performed. It consists of his sound sculptures, graphic pieces – visual equivalents of sound, as well as some found objects – the logs carved by sea and time into a sort of musical instruments. This work is a meditation on the topics of time and the nature of image. The artist's goal is to open an entrance into another dimension for the viewer to travel.

The new human universe, visible and invisible, sounding and silent, is created by means of graphics, sound, and rhythm. In the sound sculpture the sound plates are forged out of acoustic bronze compounds in order to generate a large range of frequency oscillations that can be physically felt. Together with a recording of sounds of the author's heart they turn exhibition space into an invisible vibrating cocoon. The sounding rhythm transfers onto the calligraphic pieces, where ink delicately touching the surface creates a multi-layered rhythmic composition. Through rhythm the viewer can join the artist's soul in search of a way through the sounding universe.


Yuri Kalendarev (b. 1946, Leningrad, Russia) is a sculptor and installation artist. He studied at Leningrad Aircraft Institute and the Mukhina Institute of Industrial Art. In the 1970s he was involved with non-conformist art-movement in Leningrad. In 1978/79 taught sculpture at Haifa University (Israel). Since 1980 he lives and works in Italy. His solo exhibitions were held at the museums and galleries of Switzerland, Italy, Germany and Israel.

Юрий Календарёв

Юрий Календарёв. Shma (Послушай). 2002. Бумага, тушь. 90 × 90 см. Предоставлено художником

Юрий Календарёв. Shma (Послушай). 2002. Бумага, тушь. 90 × 90 см. Предоставлено художником


Юрий Календарёв. Большой квадрат 3. 2010. Акустическая бронза. 150 × 150 × 0,33 см. Предоставлено художником

Юрий Календарёв. Большой квадрат 3. 2010. Акустическая бронза. 150 × 150 × 0,33 см. Предоставлено художником


Юрий Календарёв. Курск. 2004. Акустическая бронза. Две пластины, каждая – 160 × 60 × 0,3 см. Предоставлено художником

Юрий Календарёв. Курск. 2004. Акустическая бронза. Две пластины, каждая – 160 × 60 × 0,3 см. Предоставлено художником


Внутренняя вселенная

Бумага, тушь, акустическая бронза
1993–2010
 

Путешествие Юрия Календарёва – это, прежде всего, личный опыт внутреннего поиска, эксперимент, простирающийся от художественных техник до собственной биографии. Работая сначала с гранитом и ленд-артом, художник обращается к свету, а затем к звуку. Он переосмысливает концепт скульптуры через слуховой опыт, который выходит за рамки звука как такового в область чистой акустики.

Инсталляция рассказывает историю собственного творческого путешествия Календарёва и представляет собой своего рода мастерскую художника или храм, в котором совершается творческая медитация. Здесь представлены его звуковые скульптуры, графические листы – визуальные эквиваленты звучания, а также найденные объекты – обтесанные морем и временем бревна, превратившиеся в своеобразные музыкальные инструменты – колотушки. Эта работа – размышление на тему времени и природы образа. Цель художника – открыть вход в другое измерение, по которому предлагается путешествовать зрителю.

Новый человеческий универсум, вселенная – видимая и невидимая, звучащая и молчащая – создаются средствами графики, звука и ритма. В звуковой скульптуре экраны из бронзовых сплавов воспроизводят экстра-низкие частоты, которые мы не слышим, но ощущаем всем телом. К ним присоединяется запись звуков сердца автора, превращая пространство зала в невидимый вибрирующий кокон. Ритм звука переходит в каллиграфические листы, где деликатное прикосновение туши к поверхности создает многоуровневую ритмическую композицию. Через ритм зритель может присоединиться к душе художника в поисках дороги сквозь звучащую вселенную.


Юрий Календарёв (род. 1946, Ленинград, Россия) – скульптор. Учился в ленинградском авиационном институте и Высшем художественно-промышленном училище имени В. Мухиной. В 1970-е годы был близок ленинградскому нонконформизму. В 1978–1979 годах преподавал скульптуру в университете г. Хайфа (Израиль). С 1980 года живет и работает в Италии. Его персональные выставки проходили в музеях и галереях Швейцарии, Германии и Израиля.